ASX regulatory compliance

Australia operates in a highly regulated environment overseen by two independent Australian government agencies - ASIC and the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA). These government regulators have extensive powers to enforce the laws and regulations that govern financial markets in Australia.

The Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) and the Technical Committee of the International Organisation of Securities Commissions (IOSCO) are responsible for the establishment of the broad international standards for the regulation and conduct of clearing and settlement facilities. These are set out in the CPMI-IOSCO Principles for Financial Market Infrastructures, released in April 2012.